High Sierras

A few quick notes before getting back on the bus, yes there is public transit on the 395 corridor. The bus will take me from Lone Pine to Independence where I’ll stay for the night. It is odd to walk the streets of a small town in high 80 temps when I woke up cold in the mountains.

The trip is all downhill from here, minus thousands of feet elevation gain and loss. By downhill I mean I crested the highest point- Forester Pass at 13,200 feet. The south approach was nearly snow free yet on the other side, the official border of Kings Canyon, there was still plenty of snow from a recent storm. The fact I did this on May 29th in shoes and trekking poles speaks of the drought striking California.

The mountains, well the Sierras, have been a good thing for the trip. Finding water is no longer an issue. In fact there are now times to bath and wash clothes most days. A simple dipping into the cold stream manages to reduce the “Mark” on all the clothes. You know it is bad when you have a hard time dealing with your own stench.
The high altitude causes one to slow down and smell the roses. Turns out spring is just begining in the high mountains.

This next jaunt from Kearsarge to Red’s Meadow might be one of the most beautiful and trying. A 7 day food load over at least 5 passes of 10,000 which may or may not have snow on the north aspect. Good thing I bought new base layers today, the sweatpants scored from the Kennedy Meadows hiker box saved my life but they are done.

Sorry no pictures to share- left the camera in the hotel.

Oh I ducked out on doing Mt. Whitney. I did it years ago and after I thought about doing it again it was too late. I had not planned with enough food. I did manage to get up Olancha Peak which makes 10 peaks for the trip- half way to 20 for 20.

Here are some haiku

These are from Section F and G which were tough. Very windy, a rain storm, and not much water.

Face the winds of change
To and fro we sway about
Out of our control

One step at a time
Closer to what hard to say
Thus I keep walking

The Jedi was right
Stay on target and trust it
It is your own hike

Maslows needs not met
Not enough food or water
Give me some Cheetos

Finally something less focused on my personal struggle

A ribbon of trail
Placed amid a masterpiece
Words cannot describe

Filed from the public library in Lone Pine Ca- Doctor Chicken – D.C. signing off

About mbiropm

I am an amateur explorer, professional dirtbag, consummate daydreamer, skeptic, thought scribbler, and observer of nature.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to High Sierras

  1. sam says:

    Love it Mark! Wishing you best of luck.
    I can only imagine what it is you see, what is out there, what the mind behold in such place

Leave a comment